First attempt in progress

Started by Tracy, March 18, 2006, 03:41:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tracy

Hi all.

After much tinkering, I'm finally able to get this posted on the forums (Kevin, I think you were right and it was timing out- after I deleted the exe file and cut the size down a bit it loaded fine.)

As this is my first attempt at a game and mostly for fun (as opposed to trying to accomplish something meaningful,) any constructive feedback is welcome. Most notably, if you see me doing something grossly inneficient in the coding I'd appreciate the pointer.

The graphics are mostly oldschool SNES sprites with a tileset by Calypson, and then a few that I did myself. The sound effects were half generated by heavily modifying random wave files with Audacity, and half scrounged off of the net. (The evil laughter, for instance.) Minus the sprites, I don't think any of the stuff is copyrighted, though I'm not sure and will be checking if I ever finish this thing. Currently it's still a glorified version of the 2D side scroller example included with PB.

The enemies are randomly generated every time, and until I get a function written to make things more permanent that's just the way it's going to be. (You can hit Shift+p in the game to see the embryonic stage of the alien editor.)

Controls:

Move/Jump/fire = arrows/space/ctrl. (you can aim with up and down)

the "d" key (sometimes) cycles through weapons. It's a little buggy, and I haven't bothered to fix it or even try. (Suggestions?) There are six weapons total for now, though they're more for just trying things out than anything final. (I *am* proud of the fireball, though. Sound and graphics all done myself. :))

You can edit the map with the mouse, but it won't affect collisions until you save it with the 'enter' key.

Known bugs: