Main Menu

frogger WIP , stuck a little?

Started by micky4fun, November 01, 2008, 06:50:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

micky4fun

hi all

well took your advice and started a frogger game Kevin , though as i am very new to this it would help teach me a lot ,
well im not doing to bad and quite pleased with the progress so far , a lot lot more to do and a lots of tiding up  ,

but im kinda stuck at the moment as in i can't seem to sus out why my lilly animations dont always seem to go in the order
they sould , is it my calculations or errors in doing it ?

;------------- LILLY ANIMATION ------ <<<<<<<<<
          lilly(n)=getspriteimage (n)
       if lilly(n)=> 22
          open(n)=open(n)+1
            if open(n)=150          
               ba(n)=ba(n)+1
                  if ba(n)=6 then ba(n)=0   
              spriteimage n,22+ba(n)          
              open(n)=0   
                 endif
                 endif

lines 154 to 164 and also lines179 to 189

any help on this will be great by Kevin or anyone else
also if you can see any other way i can improve my programming bits so far

thanks
mick

kevin

You didn't have to make a frogger game, but i'm glad you did.  As it looks really good so far!

As for the animation problem, I can see where you're coming from, but i'm not too sure I follow your logic.   Anyway, if the lilly frames are loaded as images 22 through to 28.    We can just 'step through the image numbers to cycle the lilly sprite animation.   A bit like this.

PlayBASIC Code: [Select]
             ;------------- LILLY ANIMATION ------ <<<<<<<<< 
img=getspriteimage(n)
if Img=>22
open(n)=open(n)+1

if open(n)>=50
open(n)=0
; bump the frame
Img=Img+1
; check if the frame is beyond the lilly animation frames,
; if so, reset to the starting frame 22
if Img>28 then img=22
; update the sprite
SpriteImage n,Img
endif
endif