Main Menu

I'm confused!!!! Worlds and Maps

Started by ale870, April 10, 2012, 01:12:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ale870

Hello,
this is my second post (the first one I posted in my "welcome" presentation :-)

I found a big problem using PlayBasic: there is no guide line (or I can say I cannot find it) to guide new users to understand how to make a complete game genre from scratch, and which methods to be used.
Well, for example, after I studied many examples I understood that, for my platform side-scrolling game I need Maps (tiles) and World (maybe...).
So when do I need to use Maps? When World? I need to generate the scenario at runtime (procedurally generated) so what's the best method to apply collisions?

Thank you in advance for your help!!
--Alessandro

kevin

QuoteI found a big problem using PlayBasic: there is no guide line (or I can say I cannot find it) to guide new users to understand how to make a complete game genre from scratch, and which methods to be used.

Which a is pretty universal problem to all programming languages.  Learning to program, and learning to game programming are separate issues.   There are some tutorials that cover both here, but there's not many, since nobody seems interesting in writing them.   

QuoteSo when do I need to use Maps? When World?

Dunno,  given there's many potential solutions to any one given problem.   A map is just an array of 'graphics' blocks,  the usage of which are only limited by ones imagination.   You could use maps for purely display situations, collisions, both or none. 

ale870

Quote from: kevin on April 10, 2012, 06:47:07 PM
     Which a is pretty universal problem to all programming languages.  Learning to program, and learning to game programming are separate issues.   There are some tutorials that cover both here, but there's not many, since nobody seems interesting in writing them.   

I haven't problems with game programming :-)