PlayBasic Version Numbers

Started by japh42, April 16, 2008, 03:38:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

japh42

Hi,
     I have installed v1.63c.  Looking around at the link to the awards PlayBasic has received, I decided to send a link to my nephew who has mentioned learning how to program.  I found a site that had v2.35.  And as I looked around, this seems to go back to 04. 

Which is best to try it out? Was that a different PlayBasic? ???

yoxola

japh42

Thanks!

Maybe I should switch to the LE version since I'm just learning myself?

Is this a 1.63 or 1.7x based version?

yoxola

Learning Edition = 1.63 version (DX3, runs on nearly all known Win32 system)
LE doesn't create EXE and can't use DLLs, but way enough for learning and no expire.

1.63 Retail can create stand alone EXE, use DLL libraries etc.

1.7X is the coming DX7 release, runs significantly faster on many aspects,
but remember it's stil under development, and Help files are under production.

kevin

QuoteI found a site that had v2.35.  And as I looked around, this seems to go back to 04.

Prior to publishing V1.00,  we released various pre-release Beta versions of the package.  These had sequential version numbers from V000 and went up to the around V250 or more.    Unfortunately,  since then we've moved sites, which means that some download sites still link to the where the old beta files used to be (and thus they assume it's different program).    Even though they doesn't exist anymore.  We've tried getting them removed or updated, but it's been a huge waste of time.

Anyway, yoxola is right on the money.

QuoteWhich is best to try it out? Was that a different PlayBasic?

Compared to current editions yes old betas are very different.   Really old beta's used a different IDE, different project format,  no doc's etc etc   

japh42

ok.  then I guess I'll delete the 2.35 I downloaded.

And, 1.63c is the last version before 1.7x comes out right?

japh42

I mean 1.62c, that's what I have installed.