News:

PlayBASIC2DLL V0.99 Revision I Commercial Edition released! - Convert PlayBASIC programs to super fast Machine Code. 

Main Menu

DTab and drum machines

Started by Geese, May 22, 2003, 08:09:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Geese

Hello,
I'm not a drummer, but was very interested in knowing if anyone has successfully used Dtab as input to a Drum Machine.

I'm a guitarist, and I don't like programming my Alesis SR16 drum machine. Using Dtab was like a dream come true. I would even be willing to purchase a different drum machine (and Dtab), if I knew it would accept input from Dtab.

I'm very new to the MIDI world, so any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Mark Blanco
markblanco@hotmail.com

kevin

Geese:

It's hard to say (and i wrote it).  If windows knows the midi device is pluged into your system and thus the device appears in the MIDI device selection window.  You should be able to select it as an output device.

But DTAB only supports general midi, so you can't patch sounds (well not that i'm aware of).  I'm not all that familiar with midi myself, to go deeper with it.  Although I'd love too..

There are some other members here that are very familiar with MIDI. Perhaps we can get "Empty" to share some insight

empty

Hi Geese.

Yeah it's possible. Should even be possible with the SR16.
What you need is:
Your SR16
DTAB
A MIDI interface (except for testing purposes DON'T use an adapter for your soundcard joystick port. Most soundcards have massive midi buffering problems)
and a MIDI cable.

In DTAB go to Settings and chose your MIDI interface as the output port. I'm not sure if the SR16 has an in-built GM compatible drumkit but I know that you can assign each midi note to a pad.

BTW: You can try this with the DTAB demo version.

Oh, and don't hesitate to ask if there's something unclear.

Geese