News:

PlayBASIC2DLL V0.99 Revision I Commercial Edition released! - Convert PlayBASIC programs to super fast Machine Code. 

Main Menu

new guy here

Started by sicko, March 31, 2005, 10:38:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sicko

helo every one, im really glad i found this site; i been searching for something like this for a longtime; well;

i have some limited programing experience but it really stops at (your all gonna laugh) programming really bad games on my commodore 64;... anyway; i am totally lost as to where to begin with Playbasic.. i know it is pretty self explanitory, but this is quite a bit different then the basic i am acustomed to...(ahhh how simple was 1988 anyway?) well, anyway; any suggestions or ideas would help me greatly...

Im really not trying to do anything rediculously complex; as i am inspired by games like the old nes Castlevania, metroid, contra etc...side scrollers really...

well thanx for reading and any support you might be able to offer

kevin

Welcome Sicko,

So your familiar with C64 basic mostly ?   yeah things have changed a lot since then.

I guess some big differences are things like line numbers are the thing of the past and now most stuff is presented for you, without you  have to hit the hardware to make it do anything. (ie poke the sprites/ video registers/screen to do anything)

Most of the core BASIC language is the same as other basics

for lp=0 to 10
  print "hello"
next lp

; display the screen
Sync
Waitkey

Thee's also  WHILE/ENDWHILE   Repeat/UNTIL    iF/THEN   IF/ELSE/ENDIF

GOTO and GOSUB are still around, but rather than a line number we use a LABEL now.

Goto STARTHERE

Print "This like is skipped"

StartHERE:

Print "Hello"

Sync
  waitkey

sicko

Thank you vey much for the input there; it definetly cleared a bit up; wellim gonna get a jump on this and make it start happening; im sure ill be back numerous times;

kevin