2 (18.2%)
B) The strength of gfx/sound engine
2 (18.2%)
C) Both A +B.
7 (63.6%)

Total Members Voted: 10

kevin

Just a quick question.

As game developers, what's the most important aspect of your chosen game development tool(s) ?

thaaks

I voted for C.

A year ago I chose PlayBasic because of B, it's strength of gfx and sound. All the demos impressed me a lot and I started coding.
While coding I got irritated/annoyed because of the limitations of PlayBasic in area A.

I surely haven't even touched PB's power in area B: Sometimes I don't even understand how to achieve a certain graphic effect that PB could easily do for me. And although there are tons of examples included I don't know where to start. Sometimes examples are outdated, better commands and options are available in the mean time but not used as the tutorials are'nt updated.
And the user base is not this big and experienced so that most questions need to be answered by Kevin...
...but I'll learn and get there some day  :D
So for me to sum it up regarding area B: Powerful enough for me!

Given my experience as a professional coder (earning my living with it since 20 years now) I am mostly missing features in area A.

Cons:
- I am used to think in objects and classes, methods and features like inheritance or interfaces. I miss them in PB.
- I am used to case sensitive coding.
- I am used to complex structures or objects (arrays of types within types and such stuff, or objects having other objects or collections of objects as instance variables or "fields").
- The misuse of PSubs in recursions always hits me - I would prefer to only have functions.
- Returning expressions as a result of a function is a must have, also for ExitFunction. - Another must have is INC'ing a variable with an expression (and the variable should be a local variable or a global or a type field or an element in an array - whatever!).